FINA World Swimming Championships

Exciting Swimming at FINA World Swimming Championships (25m)

In December 2016, from 7 December to 11 December, Windsor in Ontario, Canada will welcome more than a thousand of the world’s best swimmers from more than 170 countries as they compete for World Championship glory in the 13th edition of the FINA World Swimming Championships 25m. In DOHA, 2014, 1300 swimmers from 174 countries took part in 46 different swimming events. In December 2012, FINA president Julio Maglione announced that Windsor, Ontario had won its bid over Hong Kong, Abu Dhabi, and Ashgabat.

Spectators and Athletes Aplenty

More than 30,000 spectators are expected to watch the world’s best swimmers compete for 46 gold medals over 6 days of competition in a temporary world championship pool to be constructed within the WFCU Arena.

There are forty six officially recognized individual swimming events that are competed for in the 25m pool. The international governing body for competitive swimming is the Fédération Internationale de Natation (“International Swimming Federation”), better known as FINA.

The Short Course Differences

The FINA World Swimming Championships (25m) or ‘Short Course Worlds’ as they are often referred to within the sport, is an international swimming competition. It is swum in a short course (25m) pool, and has been held in the years when FINA has not held its main World Championships, which currently means in even years, 2014 and the next one in 2016.

Unlike the FINA World Championships, this championship is swimming-only, as opposed to the World Championships that include all the 5 Aquatics disciplines. FINA World Swimming Championships (25m) is contested in a short course, 25-meter pool rather than a long course, 50-meter pool. Other pools which host events under FINA regulations are required to meet some but not all of these requirements. Many of these pools have eight instead of ten lanes and some will be 25 metres (82 ft) long. This is then classified as short course. World records that are set in short course pools are kept separate from those set in long course pools because it may be an advantage or disadvantage to swimmers to have more or less turns in a race.

Swimming Generalities

Swimming is an individual or team sport and activity. Competitive swimming is one of the most popular Olympic sports, with events in freestyle, backstroke, breaststroke, and butterfly.

Competitive swimming became popular in the 19th century. The goal of competitive swimming is to break personal or world records while beating competitors in any given event.

The records in short course pools began to be officially approved as ’short course world records’ from 3 March 1991. Prior to this date, times in short course pools were not officially recognised, but were regarded a ‘world best time’ or WBT. From 31 October 1994 times in 50 m backstroke, breaststroke, and butterfly were added to the official record listings.

With a reputation for being extremely exciting and close, short course swimming has gained in popularity amongst the swimming fraternity. Particularly suiting certain swimming styles, the FINA World Swimming Championships (25m) often sees completely different winners to the Olympic or long course World Championships.